Date: 28th July 2018 at 12:35pm
Written by:

With only a week to go until the start of the season, Wanderers fans were yesterday rocked by the news that popular midfielder Luke O’Nien is being sold to Sunderland.

O’Nien joined the Chairboys in July 2015 and made 119 competitive appearances, scoring 16 goals.

But the stats don’t tell the full story of the combative youngster whose energetic midfield performances were so crucial to Wanderers’ chosen style of play.

Central midfield was already an area where Wycombe appeared to lack quality in depth, and O’Nien’s departure gives manager Gareth Ainsworth further cause to strengthen ahead of his attempt to consolidate a place in League One following last season’s promotion.

Yesterday also saw the return of Randell Williams on-loan from Watford until January 2nd.

Williams spent the latter part of last season at Adams Park, making 6 appearances and scoring one goal, a crucial match-winner at Yeovil Town. The young forward scored Wycombe’s only goal in last night’s friendly at Maidenhead, and could feature on Saturday as injuries begin to take their toll with Scott Kashket and Nathan Tyson both likely to be out for a while.

Wanderers’ squad status is currently as follows…

On Loan until January 2nd 2019
Randell Williams
Contracted until January 2019
Curtis Thompson
Contracted until summer 2019
Yves Ma-Kalambay (contracted until 2019)
Michael Harriman (contracted until 2019)
Darius Charles (contracted until 2019)
Marcus Bean (contracted until 2019)
Dominic Gape (contracted until 2019)
Sam Saunders (contracted until 2019)
Paris Cowan-Hall (contracted until 2019)
Scott Kashket (contracted until 2019)
Adebayo Akinfenwa (contracted until 2019)
Nathan Tyson (contracted until 2019)
Contracted until summer 2020
Joe Jacobson (contracted until 2020)
Sido Jombati (contracted until 2020)
Adam El-Abd (contracted until 2020)
Anthony Stewart (contracted until 2020)
Matt Bloomfield (contracted until 2020)
Nick Freeman (contracted until 2020)
Craig Mackail-Smith (contracted until 2020)
Contracted until summer 2021
Ryan Allsop (contracted until 2021)